An incident can be thought of as a problem or an issue that needs to be addressed and resolved. Incidents trigger on a service, which prompts notifications to go out to on-call responders per the service's escalation policy.
An incident can be in one of three states: triggered, acknowledged, or resolved.
Triggered - Upon receiving an event, an active service (that is, a service that has someone on-call at that moment, and is not disabled or in maintenance mode) will create a new triggered incident. This incident will then begin escalating as defined by the service's escalation policy. By default, notifications are sent out when an incident is triggered, but not when an incident is acknowledged or resolved (to be notified of those state changes, individual users can configure status change notifications, or you can use webhooks).
Acknowledged (abbreviated as Ack'd) - The state of an incident if you want to communicate that the issue is being worked on, but has not yet been resolved. The person who acknowledges the incident now has ownership of the issue. Acknowledging an incident halts the escalation process. Once an incident has been acknowledged, notifications will not be sent to the on-call user until the Incident Ack Timeout is reached (with the exception of acknowledged incidents open for 24 hours or longer; these will generate a daily "reminder" notification). Once the Incident Ack Timeout is reached, the incident will go from the acknowledged state back to the triggered state and notifications will be sent again; the escalation process is "un-paused" and continues as defined beyond that point.
Resolved - When you have fixed the issue and want the incident to be closed out. Once an incident is resolved, no additional notifications will be sent and the incident cannot be triggered again. If "triggered" marks the beginning of an incident, "resolved" marks the end.
In the event that an incident contains sensitive information, the Account Owner can hide the incident's details by using the Redact Incident button.
After confirming that you would like to redact an incident’s name and details, it will be updated permanently to show who redacted the data and when.
Note: This action is only available to Account Owners. Redaction cannot be undone, not even by PagerDuty Support.