There are 3 main reasons why you may not be able to delete a user on your account:
- You do not have the permission to delete a user based on your user role.
- The user is still on-call, now and/or in the future, on a schedule and/or escalation policy.
- There is at least one open incident assigned to that user.
Note: You may not delete yourself or the Account Owner. If you wish to delete yourself, you will need the Account Owner or an Admin to do so for you. If you wish to delete the Account Owner, the Account Owner must first transfer account ownership to a different user on the account, then you can go back and delete the previous owner.
1. Permission Restriction
Only the following user roles have permission to delete users on an account:
- Account Owner
'User', 'Limited User' and 'Team Responder' roles cannot delete users and do not have access to the Delete button on the Users page, under Actions.
For more information on User Roles and permissions, you can refer to this article.
2. User Currently In Use
If you are an Account Owner or Admin and you receive an error when trying to delete a user, you may see something similar to the message in the screenshot below (i.e. The user cannot be deleted as they are currently in use).
This error is the result of the user being on an existing schedule and/or escalation policy.
The user will need to be removed from each of the schedules and/or escalation policies listed in the error message before they can be deleted.
Once the user is no longer associated with any schedules or escalation policies, you can go back to the Users tab and click Delete under the Actions column once more.
3. User Has Open Incidents
A user cannot be deleted if there are open incidents assigned to them. In order to delete a user with open incidents, you will need to do at least 1 of the following:
- Reassign the incident to another user or escalation policy.
- Resolve the incident (not recommended unless the issue is actually fixed).