User Roles

Overview of basic PagerDuty user roles

User roles determine the level of access a user has to incidents and configuration objects, such as services, escalation policies and schedules.

πŸ“˜

User Role Tiers

PagerDuty has two tiers of user roles depending on your account's plan. To determine which tier your role belongs to, navigate to User Icon My Profile. If you see a tab that says Permissions & Teams, please visit our article on Advanced Permissions. If you only see the User Settings tab, your account has basic user roles and you should continue to use this article for reference.

User Role Permissions

Stakeholder* Limited User User Admin Account Owner
Subscribe to incidents βœ“ βœ“ βœ“ βœ“ βœ“
View:
βˆ™ User profiles
βˆ™ Incidents
βˆ™ Schedules
βˆ™ Escalation policies
βˆ™ Services
βˆ™ Analytics
βˆ™ Postmortems
βœ“ βœ“ βœ“ βœ“ βœ“
Can be added to schedules and escalation policies βœ“ βœ“ βœ“ βœ“
Create overrides for schedules that the user is on-call for βœ“ βœ“ βœ“ βœ“
Trigger, acknowledge, reassign, and resolve incidents βœ“ βœ“ βœ“ βœ“
Add/edit/delete postmortems βœ“ βœ“ βœ“ βœ“
Add/edit/delete:
βˆ™ On-call schedules
βˆ™ Escalation policies
βˆ™ Services
βˆ™ Maintenance windows
βˆ™ Teams
βˆ™ Response plays
βœ“ βœ“ βœ“
Add new users βœ“ βœ“
Delete users (cannot delete the Account Owner) βœ“ βœ“
Edit a user's profile/password βœ“ βœ“
Create/delete REST API keys βœ“ βœ“
Access billing information βœ“
Cannot be deleted βœ“
Change the account owner βœ“
Enable and edit Single Sign-On (SSO) properties* βœ“
Delete the account βœ“

* Available on Business and Digital Operations pricing plans. Please contact our Sales Team if you would like to upgrade to a plan with this feature.

Stakeholder Users

Stakeholders can view objects in an account, but cannot make modifications. The intended use case for a Stakeholder is to be added as an incident Subscriber. Stakeholders will receive updates about incidents they are subscribed to, but cannot take any action.

Stakeholder users are available by default on our Digital Operations plan and can be purchased as add-on users on Business plans. Stakeholder licenses are not billed the same as full users. Please contact your account representative for more information.

Check Your User Role

To check what role you have, go to User Icon My Profile. Depending on your account's plan, your user role information will be found in the following tabs:

  • Free, Professional, Starter (Legacy) and Team (Legacy) Plans: These plans will only have a User Settings tab, and you will find your Role information there. These role types are basic User Roles.
  • Business and Digital Operations Plans: These plans will have an additional Permissions & Teams tab where you can find information about your Base Role and any Team Role(s) or Object Role(s) that you may have. These role types are Advanced Permissions.

Edit User Roles

Please see our documentation on editing user roles.