Editing Schedules

Adding and Removing Users on Schedules

As new users join and other users leave your on-call rotations, you will need to edit your on-call schedules so that the right people are on-call and notified at the right times.

Any changes made to a schedule (including adding and removing users) won't affect the historical record of that schedule — changes will only apply to future dates and times. Make sure to check the effective date for changes to make sure that the schedule rotates on the right date and time when you add or remove a user.

Adding Users

To add a user to an on-call schedule:

  1. Go to the Configuration → Schedules.
  2. Click New On-Call Schedule at the top right to create a new schedule, or click on the gear for an existing on-call schedule to edit it.
  1. Click Select a User to choose a user's name or begin search for their name to add a user to the on-call schedule layer.
  1. Repeat until required users are added.
  1. Click Save Changes.

Removing Users

To permanently remove a user from an on-call schedule:

  1. Go to the Configuration → Schedules.
  2. Click on the gear for the schedule you would like to edit and select Edit.
  3. Click the X next to the user's name that you want to remove.
  1. Click Save Changes.

Create and Delete Overrides

Overrides are used to make manual one-time adjustments to on-call schedules. If a user is sick, goes on vacation, or would like to swap on-call periods with someone else, an override is our recommended solution.

Scheduling an override creates an override layer over the existing schedule. Scheduled overrides are displayed beneath your schedule layers, as the lowest layer before the Final Schedule (the lowest layer always takes precedence).

Create Overrides in the Web UI

There are three places to schedule overrides on existing schedules in PagerDuty.

Override a specific shift on a schedule

Scheduling an override by clicking directly on the shift you'd like to override will pre-populate the override window with the effective dates and times, without you having to manually punch them in.

  1. Access your schedules from the web UI by going to Configuration → Schedules.
  2. From the Schedules page or from the individual schedule's viewing page, click directly on the shift that you would like to override. If need be, you can tab forward by days, weeks, and months to locate the shift you would like to override.
  3. The Schedule an Override window will be pre-populated with the times of the shift that you just clicked. Make the necessary changes to the Person you're adding for the override and click Create Override.
  1. The override will immediately appear on the schedule

Note

If you click on a shift to override it from the On-Call Schedules page and the shift's date-range is outside of the immediate On-Call Schedules view, then the defaulted times of the override will be the times shown on the page, rather than the full length of the shift. In this case, we recommend going to the schedule's individual view page to create an override.

Override any span of time on a schedule

  1. Navigate to Configuration → Schedules.
  2. Click on the gear for the desired on-call schedule and select Schedule an Override.
  1. Or you can click into a schedule and select Schedule an Override
  1. The override window will be a pop-up. Select the Person and start/end times of the override. Click Create Override when complete.

Create Overrides Using the REST API

An example Python script to schedule overrides for a user going on vacation can be found here: create_vacation_overrides.py.

To learn more about how to interact with the PagerDuty API, we recommend checking out the collection of scripts our community has created on our Knowledge Base. Our developer docs also provide more information on creating and deleting overrides using the REST API.

Delete an Override

You can delete upcoming overrides on your schedule in the event that the override is no longer needed. If an override is deleted during the middle of the scheduled shift, the regular schedule will resume from the time of the override's deletion. You cannot delete past overrides; only present or future ones.

To delete an override:

  1. While on the Schedules page, click on the name of the schedule or select View after clicking on the gear for the schedule you would like to change.
  2. In the Upcoming Overrides list, click the X to delete the override.

Pause or Deactivate an On-call Schedule

Sometimes you might want to stop a schedule from being used without deleting it.

For example:

  • If the schedule is a draft which you are not ready to implement. (Note, however, that you can set an effective date for future changes without deactivating your current schedule)

  • If the schedule needs to be used regularly but only for special events, such as on-call shadowing.

To prevent an on-call schedule from being used, you will want to either remove the schedule from any escalation policies it is assigned to, or change the escalation policy used by your services to one that does not use the schedule.

Option 1: Remove a Schedule from an Escalation Policy

The right sidebar will display any escalation policies where the schedule is in use.

Click on the escalation policy you want to remove the schedule from, then click Edit Escalation Policy on the top right corner of the page.

Find your schedule in the escalation policy's rules, then click the X button on the schedule object to remove it from the rule.

Note

If the schedule is the only target (person or schedule) in the escalation rule, you will need to click the X button on the rule to delete the entire rule, as each rule must contain at least one target.

Click Save when you are done, and repeat this process for any additional escalation policies this schedule is used by.

Option 2: Change the Escalation Policy for a Service

To change the escalation policy used by a service — so that incidents triggered for the service do not alert the schedule you want to deactivate — go to your service and click Edit Service.

On the edit page, select a new escalation policy for your service which does not use the schedule you want to deactivate, then click Save changes.

Repeat this process for any additional services this escalation policy is linked to.

Restore a Schedule to a Previous Version

If you or another user alters a schedule, you can quickly revert a schedule back to a previously saved version as well as see when each saved change was made.

Revert a Schedule

  1. Click on Configuration → Schedules.
  2. Click on the name of the schedule that you wish to revert to open its details.
  3. On the right hand side of the page, click on Revert this Schedule to view the recent changes made to that schedule.
  1. Once you select one of the options from the dropdown, you will be brought to the Edit Schedule page for that version of the schedule. From here you may make additional edits, or click on Revert Schedule in the upper right corner of the page.

Limitations

Currently only changes made to the schedule layers are saved and can be reverted. Overrides will not be affected if you revert a schedule. For now, the user's name making each change is omitted. However, this is something being considered for a later release.

Editing Schedules