Incident Priority

Incident Priority

This feature is currently in early access and only available on current Standard and Enterprise accounts. If you are interested in getting on a pricing plan that includes this feature, please contact our Sales Team.

Incident priority allows the classification of incidents based on a level of prioritization. Just as alerts can have different levels of severity and notifications can have different levels of urgency, incidents can be classified into different levels of priority. Priority labels can be customized on a per account basis so you can match to your existing priority scheme that may be in use in other tools.

Enabling Incident Priority

Incident priority can be enabled for an entire account by any admin user. Once enabled, the UI of your incident dashboard will change to now include the Priority column.

To enable this feature:

  1. Navigate to Configuration → Incident Priorities.
  2. Click Enable Incident Priority Levels.
  3. You have the option to customize your priority labels and levels. You can classify incidents with up to 5 different priority levels.

When you return to the Incidents page, you will see that the dashboard now contains a column for Priority. The priority is also displayed in an incident's details in both the web UI and mobile app. By default, past incidents will not have a priority, but you can append a priority to a past incident from the incident details page.

Prioritizing an Incident

Incident priority can be set at the time of creation, or after the incident has been triggered.

To set priority at incident creation:

  1. Navigate to the Incidents page and click New Incident.
  2. Select the priority level that you would like from the dropdown:
  1. After completing your other incident details, click Create Incident.

Incidents can only be triggered with Priority if they are created in the web ui. If an incident is triggered from a monitoring tool, the Events or REST API, or an email integration, it will be created in PagerDuty without a priority.

To edit an incident's priority after it's been triggered:

  1. Find the incident that you would like to prioritize. Click the name of it to open the incident's details.
  2. Click Edit next to the incident's priority and select the priority level from the dropdown.

Snooze an Incident

Snooze allows users to keep an incident in an "acknowledged" state for the following intervals of time: 1 hour, 4 hours, 8 hours, 24 hours or Other. As an incident responder, this means I can snooze an incident while I troubleshoot the problem — or go back to bed and avoid being woken up again by an issue that can wait until later!

How do I snooze an incident?

You're only able to snooze acknowledged incidents. You can acknowledge an incident from either the web or mobile application. The following example outlines snoozing an incident in the web UI:

  1. Acknowledge the incident.
  1. Select Snooze and the length of time the incident should be snoozed.

The incident log will capture all snooze actions taken on an incident. If Other is selected, you will have the option to select a custom snooze time, snooze until a time tomorrow, or base your snooze on support hours for that service.

Because he did not resolve the incident within the specified snooze timeframe, the incident returned to a triggered state and started notifying him again, following his notification rules. In the below example you can see that when the snooze timed out, the incident returned to a triggered state and re-notified the user.

What happens if I reassign a snoozed incident?

Reassigning a "snoozed" incident will cancel the snooze timer. The timeout setting will reset to the default timeout setting which is configured within the service from which the incident originated.

What happens if another user acknowledges the incident after I snooze the incident?

If another user acknowledges the incident we will un-snooze the incident, and the un-acknowledgement timer will start again.

Incident Priority