Basic User Roles

If you have a Platform Business or Enterprise plan, please refer to this article about Advanced Permissions.

User Roles in Your Account

Stakeholder*
Limited User
User
Admin
Account Owner

View:

  • User profiles
  • Incidents
  • Schedules
  • Escalation policies
  • Services
  • Analytics

Subscribe to incidents

Be added on schedules and escalation policies

Create overrides for schedules that the user is on-call for

Trigger, acknowledge, reassign, and resolve incidents

Add/edit/delete:

  • On-call schedules
  • Escalation policies
  • Services
  • Maintenance windows
  • Teams
  • Response plays

Add new users

Delete users (cannot delete the Account Owner)

Edit a user's profile/password

Create/delete REST API keys

Access billing information

Cannot be deleted

Change the account owner

Enable and edit Single Sign-On (SSO) properties*

Delete the account

*Available on Platform Business and Enterprise pricing plans.

Team Responders

Team responders are a special additional role that is available on Platform Business and Enterprise pricing plans. Globally, by default, they have read-only permissions to everything, much like Stakeholder.

However, for each of the teams of which they are a member, the user has the same permissions as a Limited User. So, they can acknowledge, resolve and add notes to incidents that pertain to their own team, but for incidents belonging to other teams' services, they can only view them.

Stakeholder Users

Stakeholder users are available on Platform Business and Enterprise plans. Stakeholders can view objects in an account, but cannot make modifications. The intended use case for a Stakeholder is to be added as a Subscriber to an incident — they will receive updates about the incident, but cannot take any action.

Stakeholder licenses are not billed the same as full users. Please contact your Account Manager for more information.

Changing a User's Role

You will need to be an Account Owner or Admin user to change another user's role. Only the Account Owner can change their own role by transferring account ownership to another user in the account.

To change a user's role:

  1. Go to Configuration → Users.
  2. Click the name of the user you would like to update.
  3. On their profile page, click the User Settings tab.
  4. Click on the Edit icon to the right of the Role section. Select a new role from the dropdown.
  5. Click Save.