How Workflow Permissions Work

Global Admins and Managers have access to edit and create Workflows. You can set who can edit a Workflow from the Workflow settings page. Permissions can be changed at any time.

Permissions are determined by a users role, and their team. Permissions Individual permission settings govern which users can edit or view any given Workflow, and are set per-Workflow. A team must be explicitly given permission to view or edit a Workflow, and only one team can have access at a time.

How to give view and edit permissions for a Workflow

The individual Workflow permissions are set per-Workflow.

  1. Select Automation from the top navigation bar.
  2. Select Workflows, this will open the Workflow detail page.
  3. Select the Workflow you wish to edit.
  4. Select the Settings tab under the Workflow's name.
  5. Change Who can edit this Workflow?

πŸ“˜

Tip

Changing who can edit the Workflow also changes who can edit the associated services. If there are associated services the new team cannot access, the associated services can not be edited, and the services may need to be updated.

How to give responders permission to run a Workflow manually

To run a Workflow manually, the Workflow must have a manual trigger. From the trigger, you can configure who can run the Workflow, and which services to associate to the Workflow.

Manual trigger permissions are set per-trigger.

  1. Select Automation from the top navigation bar.
  2. Select Workflows, this will open the Workflow detail page.
  3. Select the Workflow you wish to edit.
  4. Select the manual trigger for the Workflow.
  5. Change Who can edit this Workflow?
  6. Select All incident responders or Incident responders on a specific team

Get help with a problem or question

If something's not working as expected, or you're looking for suggestions, check through the options below.

Why can't I see a specific service from my team?

Users can only select services that they have edit permissions on. To add a service you don't have edit permissions on, you'll need to have another user make the change, or request edit permissions on that service.

Can I change which team can edit or view the Workflow?

Yes, but only to teams you are a manager on. Changing the team changes which users can access the Workflow.

Be careful of situations where the team is changed, but the new team lacks edit permissions on some of the services associated by trigger. If no users have edit permissions on a service in use, then your team would be unable to make changes to the trigger without assistance.